Tuesday 26 September 2017

CTARC Call For Len Wells Trophy Nominations - 20 Sep '17

Following a committee meeting at the CTARC clubhouse yesterday evening, once again the call is going out for nominations for the Len Wells Ham Spirit Trophy. This time around it will be the 50th Anniversary of the Trophy, and Dennis / ZS1AU would like to make something of an occasion of it.

The trophy is awarded to Radio Amateurs who are making a real difference to our hobby in a positive way and who by doing so display true Ham Spirit. While the award is handed out by Dennis at the CTARC's end of year meeting at the clubhouse on the fourth Saturday in November, nominees need not necessarily be members of the CTARC. This year, the CTARC's end of year meeting will be held on Saturday, 25th November 2017.

Nominations should be submitted by e-mail to Dennis / ZS1AU, together with a motivation for the nomination, to zs1au@telkomsa.net. Such nominations must please be submitted before the end of October 2017 as Dennis has to make his decision and the winners name has to be engraved.

Last year, the Trophy was awarded to Ettienne / ZS1AX, shown here below with Dennis.