Sunday, 30 November 2014

CTARC Report on Meeting of 29 Nov '14

The final meeting of 2014 for the Cape Town Amateur Radio Society was held yesterday, Saturday 29 November. It was, as ever, a very sociable event. The braai fires started at 12h00 and members had the opportunity to meet, and chat in weather that was agreeably warm and not too windy. A scheduled rolling electricity blackout in the Southern Suburbs wasn't a problem.

Dennis /ZS1AU appeared in his traditional James Bond outfit to present (after an amusing preamble) the Len Wells Ham Spirit trophy, which this year is awarded to Danny /ZS1BL, a worthy recipient indeed! Congratulations, Danny! Nick /ZS1ZD was awarded the CTARC Club Participation Trophy, which consists of a beautiful old Morse key mounted on a wooden plinth.

The meeting continued through the afternoon with the hiss and sizzle of wors on the braai grid and the pop and fizz of beer- and cold drink cans opening, accompanied by the chatter of members and their XYL's discussing almost every subject under the ionosphere. At around 16h00, most of us called it an afternoon and made our way carefully home past intersections with inoperative traffic lights.

The next meeting of the CTARC will take place in January 2015. We do look forward to seeing existing and new members then. Details will be provided on this website, in the December edition of Ragchew and on the usual Sunday morning bulletins.

Below are some photos of the End of Year meeting:

Left to right: Fred /ZS1FK, Elsabe, Rob /ZS1SA and John /ZS1AGH
Tony /ZS1TM and Richard /ZS1RIC
Mike /ZS1FP had various photos to show us all

Davey /ZR1FR & John /ZS1AGH

Nick /ZS1ZD (left) receives the Club Participation Trophy from our chairman Rob /ZS1SA (right)
Everybody waits for Dennis to announce the winner of the Len Wells Trophy
Dennis /ZS1AU awards Danny /ZS1BL the Len Wells Ham Spirit Trophy

Fred /ZS1FK (right) and and his sturdy bike, all the way from St Helena Bay

Paul /ZS1S and Fred /ZS1FZ
Mike /ZS1CO and Geoff /ZR1GFT
Geoff should have been awarded the trophy for the most original hat!